008. FLORKS

boy_sleeping
(image from the net)

The class was lifeless. My classmates’ heads were looking down like people praying. The teacher was talking but I barely hear it. I’m sitting at 4A, which is by the window at the last row. All day I sat there, holding sleepiness, listening to six boring subjects.

One day, during math class, well nearly the end of math class, I was so sleepy. I looked at the window and WOW, I saw a world. A place where animals and plants are unknown.

The ground was pistachio ice cream. The ground was green. The rocks were like pistachio nuts. Rivers run like kids chasing each other. The sea was shining when the morning rays hit. Mountains were like chocolate kisses. It’s a land I want to set foot on.

I stood up to take a closer look.

Just then I realized that the whole class paused. I leaned to touch the window. But there was no window.

I fell.

I thought I was going to die, but instead, I grew two large golden wings and flew to the nearest mountain I saw.

When I reached the planet’s atmosphere, I lost control of my wings. I was hit by something. Something that’s hard and hot. I looked at my burned wing. Blood was spilling.

I crash landed.

When I woke up, the first thing I saw was the ceiling. I looked around and saw rusted bars surrounding me. Mosses were growing on the floor.

“Oh, no!” I said to myself “What have I done?”

Two creatures suddenly came in and pushed me out. The first thing I saw was a bright light and horns blaring. When the light was clear, I saw millions of little fuzzy creatures with a wheel as their feet and a fuzzy antenna. The biggest one (who I think is the leader) spoke in a different language. They gave me food and clothes. Not just that, they gave me a home and a personal guard.

The next day, the guard led me to a building that is two stories high. Many young Florks were there. So I knew it was a school. In just a few weeks I learned their language. Then their culture, beliefs, and food.

I lived there for many years.

One day, to my surprise, Globork the leader suddenly told me –

“It’s time to go home.”

“Nooo!” I shouted. “I don’t want to leave because I love it here. Your history is more interesting and the classes are more exciting…”

Then I heard a bell.

And screaming.

Then I realized they were saving me. I had no choice but to follow them. They were leading me to a dark, damp and clammy place. It was getting darker and darker.

In a snap, I woke up.

Everybody was at their seat, working. On the blackboard, I read “WRITE A STORY, ANY TOPIC”.

Now I know what I’m going to write.

– Farid, 12

Leave a comment